What Makes a Highly Sensitive Person?

Therese J. Borchard

highly-sensitive-peopleMy mom called me her “flapper” when I was a baby. Whenever I got excited, I would flap my arms, like I was young chick taking off for flight … in front of a hawk. I still do that, to some extent, but I manage to keep the arm movements to a minimum extension.

I am easily excitable, a “highly sensitive person,” as defined by Elaine Aron in her bestseller, “The Highly Sensitive Person.” If you answer yes to most of these questions on her website, you’re probably in the club, which holds 15 to 20 percent of human beings:

  • Are you easily overwhelmed by such things as bright lights, strong smells, coarse fabrics, or sirens nearby?
  • Do you get rattled when you have a lot to do in a short amount of time?
  • Do you make a point of avoiding violent movies and TV shows?
  • Do you need…

View original post 91 more words

Leave a Reply

