Mood changes 

As Salam Alikum Readers,

I can feel it, it’s creeping in slowly and there is nothing that I can do to stop it. What I’m talking about is a change in my mood, everyone goes through mood changes some more than others. When dealing with a mood disorder one must always be aware of their mood somethings that affect the mood are under our control, then there are other things that we have no control over like the changing of the weather, the pollen count and how other people react as well as their moods.

I recently started a job and I’m not really used to the schedule the job structure is very good and when I’m at work I can concentrate on just working. It’s the other things like my days off, weather and the unending list of chores.

Not really sure where this post is going I feel weird my mood is shifting and I’m trying to explain it but I guess I can’t really explain it my mind is going to fast and I cannot keep up I am trying to keep up with the chores but I feel I am going to become hypomanic which is not something that I like to be because when I am hypomanic I do not sleep I do not eat and I start projects then never get finished. I have tried countless medications but they don’t help I’m either allergic or intolerant to the medication or the side effects are very bad so I am trying to manage my disorder as best as I can.

Thanks for reading this hope it helps someone.

 This is how my brain feels when I am getting hypomanic.

26 thoughts on “Mood changes 

  1. Saroosh M says:

    I feel you. Somedays, suddenly I start to hate everything around me, I question life, I find myself going from optimistic happy-go-lucky, to skeptical and fed up of life in general. I personally think that this is caused by the fact that I have nothing to do?

  2. Rimsha says:

    I can really identify with this feeling. I don’t think I’m hypomanic (at least haven’t been diagnosed yet if I am) but these uncalled for mood swings that are completely out of my control – this is something I’ve felt too. I really hope you find something that will make it easier to get through ❤

    • muslimah says:

      Thanks for your kind reply, it took me years before I was properly diagnosed with bipolar. If you have mood swings that you can explain then please seek doctors advice and get proper diagnosis. Unfortunately I haven’t found any treatments that have worked was treatments cause more issues or I’m allergic to the treatment so I pretty much just deal with the moods which is not fun.

  3. Nasra says:

    This post has definitely helped me, I have never heard of Hypomanic and had to google search it after reading your post. I pray that Allah helps you, my love.

    • muslimah says:

      I’m glad it helped you, hypomanic means you get an elevated mood but you don’t go over the talk basically is what it means, like you clean the house over and over and over

  4. Amina Edota says:

    The world of psychology opened my mind to many of the disorders out there ~ almost unbelievable ~ but I know with much certainty that all cure and help comes from Allah. It is all a test for this temporary dunya. I pray you find a better medication and more helpful ways to manage things.

    My duas are with you. May He bring you ease.

  5. Asbah Alaena says:

    I can relate to you a little, but all these are phases of life hope you embark on a soothing calm phase soon!

  6. Farah Abdullah @ Flora Tavu says:

    I’m allergic to not doing things I want, too. But I just keep in mind that if I won’t do it, who will? This applies especially on home stuff. What I do is, I just quickly scratch them off my to do list by planning ahead or giving myself a reason why it should be done, e.g. I’m going out today OR I’m going to do something I like after it. As for the mood, it’s easier said than done but I have gone through a similar self-inflicted problem by letting things accumulate, so best not let it come to that.

  7. lubnakarim06 says:

    I think it happens with most of us…work, house, kids,spouse….we deal with so many things in every nick of time…relax and start again…i can relate to the most in many ways…even my mood swings effect my food habits at times…

  8. misfitmuslimah says:

    Mood changes are not fun, do you see a pattern? Or does it feel totally random? Has anything changed? Routine, sleep? New job? Lost job? Big changes in weather and other factors affect mood , feel free to pm me if you’d like to chat more

Leave a Reply

